What's the deal with groundhog day?

Groundhog Day is based on an old Pennsylvania Dutch superstition that if a groundhog, such as Punxsutawney Phil, comes out of its den on February 2 & sees its shadow, it will go back to its den & there will be 6 more weeks of winter. If it doesn't see its shadow, Spring will arrive early.