Who is the first person to go to space?

On April 12, 1961, aboard the spacecraft Vostok 1, Soviet cosmonaut Yuri Alekseyevich Gagarin becomes the first human being to travel into space.

---

Soviet Air Force pilot and cosmonaut Yuri Gagarin was the first human in space when his Vostok 1 capsule made an orbit around Earth on April 12, 1961.

---

Yuri Alekseyevich Gagarin was a Soviet Air Forces pilot and cosmonaut who became the first human to journey into outer space.