How do you wash an afghan?

Put washer on normal or delicate cycle with cool or cold water. Make sure there is nothing in the machine that can snag the item, items with zippers for example. Add fabric softener to avoid tangles and run the wash cycle. Lay the afghan to dry, if it has fringe or tassels, detangle with fingers.