What's the world record for a mile run?

Hicham El Guerrouj is the current men's record holder with his time of 3:43.13, while Sifan Hassan has the women's record, pending ratification, of 4:12.33. Since 1976, the mile has been the only non-metric distance recognized by the IAAF for record purposes