How many species of banana are there?

Almost all modern edible seedless (parthenocarp) bananas come from two wild species – Musa acuminata and Musa balbisiana. Grown in more than 150 countries, it is widely believed there are more than 1,000 types of these 2 species. The most widely known is the Cavendish which you see in the market.