When did the first space shuttle blow up?

Space Shuttle Challenger disaster was a fatal incident in the U.S space program that occurred on January 28, 1986. The Space Shuttle Challenger broke apart 73 seconds into its flight, killing all seven crew members aboard. The crew consisted of five NASA astronauts, and two payload specialists.