What is vermouth mean?

What does "vermouth" mean? Vermouths are strongly alcoholic drinks, about 18% alcohol, made with red or white wine, flavored with aromatic herbs and spices. Vermouths are generally mixed with gin or vodka and are used to make Martinis, Manhattans, etc. Vermouths can be dry (not sweet) or sweet.

---

Vermouth is a fortified and aromatics wine.