What was the war on terror?

The war on terror is a global international military campaign targeting Al-Qaeda & the Taliban, & launched by the U.S. after the September 11, 2001 attacks. President George W. Bush first referenced "war on terrorism" on September 16, 2001, & "war on terror" a few days later in a speech to Congress