When did civil war soldiers use what painkiller?

Morphine, the most active substance in opium, is a very powerful painkiller that hooked many US Civil War soldiers. Throughout the early nineteenth century, the recreational use of opium grew and by 1830, the British dependence on the drug reached an all-time high.