Tell me about the ancient city of alexandria?

Alexandria was founded in 331 BC, named after Alexander the Great. For a time, it was the largest and most prosperous city in the world, famous for it's lighthouse (called Pharos); and the Necropolis; and for its Great Library (the largest in the ancient world).