What is a chip buddy?

A chip butty is a sandwich filled with chips, known as french fries in the US, optionally eaten with condiments such as brown sauce, ketchup, mayonnaise, or malt vinegar. The bread may be slices from a loaf or a bread roll, and is usually buttered.