Can dogs taste food?

A dog's sense of taste is much less discriminating than that of humans. In fact, while humans have roughly 9,000 taste buds, dogs have only around 1,700. Studies have shown that dogs have the same four taste classifications that humans do; meaning they can identify sweet, sour, salty and bitter.