What's the difference between baby back ribs and spare ribs?

Back ribs are cut from where the rib meets the spine. The upper ribs are called baby back ribs, but not because they come from a baby pig! They’re only called baby because they are smaller in relation to the bigger spareribs. Spareribs are the meaty ribs cut from the belly of the animal.