What's the filibuster rule?

The filibuster is a powerful legislative device in the U. S. Senate. Senate rules permit a senator(s) to speak for as long as they wish on any topic they choose, unless "three-fifths of the Senators duly chosen and sworn" vote to bring debate to a close by invoking cloture under Senate Rule XXII.

---

A filibuster is used to delay or entirely prevent a decision being made on the proposal. U.S. Senate rules permit a senator or senators to speak for as long as they wish and on any topic they choose, unless "three-fifths of the Senators duly chosen and sworn" vote to bring debate to a close.

---

The filibuster is a tool used by the Senate, and originally required someone to be recognized by the chairperson to speak. Once they started, they would not stop. It delays having a vote taken on an issue by dragging out discussion until everyone gave up on the bill.