What's the filibuster rule?

The filibuster is a powerful legislative device in the U. S. Senate. Senate rules permit a senator(s) to speak for as long as they wish on any topic they choose, unless "three-fifths of the Senators duly chosen and sworn" vote to bring debate to a close by invoking cloture under Senate Rule XXII.