How do you plant a tree in animal crossing?

To plant trees, you will need to purchase saplings from Timmy at the start of the game or Nook's Cranny. Once you have some, walk to the spot where you'd like to plant them. Select them in the inventory and choose 'Plant here'. This will plant the tree, no need for digging or anything.