What do you use to clean dog's ears?

It has been determined, recently, that it is not a good idea to clean your dogs ears, unless recommended and performed by a vet. Common canine ear cleaning solutions purchasable from pet suppliers remove a dog's natural oils leaving them vulnerable to infections.