How do you treat first degree burns?

NOT with butter. Cool (not cold) water, burn medication, aloe, place a cool wet cloth over the burn.

---

The best way to treat a first degree burn is to run it under cool water, then cover it with a bandage. Do not apply butter or any other salve to it, although some people recommend a drop of pure lavender essential oil.