What is saturn retrograde?

During retrograde, Saturn appears to move backwards within the sign from our vantage point on Earth. This happens because of the difference in the speed of revolutions between the planet in retrograde and Earth. The retrograde motion is therefore an illusion. The planet isn't actually slowing down.