Is there such thing as a five star general?

Yes. 5 Army and 4 Navy officers have received 5 stars. George C. Marshall, Douglas MacArthur, Dwight D. Eisenhower, Henry H. Arnold, Omar Bradley, William D. Leahy, Ernest J. King, Chester Nimitz, and William F. Halsey. No one has received the rank since 1950.