How do you grow pumpkins in minecraft?

To grow pumpkins in minecraft, first use shears on a pumpkin to turn it into a jack-o-lantern and get seeds. Then plant the seeds on a farmland block. A vine will grow from the planted seed and a pumpkin will appear on one of the adjacent blocks. Harvest only the pumpkin and the vine will grow more.