Why was david berkowitz called the son of sam?

The Son of Sam, once dubbed the “.44 Caiber Killer,” eventually got his name from letters he sent to both the police and famed newspaper writer Jimmy Breslin that said, “...I am a monster. I am the Son of Sam. I love to hunt, prowling the streets looking for fair game.”