Where is downtown abbey located?

Downtown Abbey was filmed at Highclere Castle, located in Highclere Park near Newbury, in the county of Berkshire, England. Highclere Castle lies to the west of London, not far from the M4.highway. Oxford and Birmingham are to the north, Winchester and Southampton to the south.