How many characters are in spongebob squarepants?

Spongebob Squarepants has 7 main characters: Spongebob, his best friend Patrick, his coworker neighbor Squidward Tentacles, his squirrel friend Sandy, his boss Mr Crabs, Mr Crabs' daughter Pearl, and Mrs Puff the driving instructor.