What is a mccune apple?

Macoun apples are a cross between the 'McIntosh' and 'Jersey Black' cultivars. Macoun was developed at the New York State Agricultural Experiment Station in Geneva, by Richard Wellington. It was first introduced in 1923, and is an eating apple.