How many proteins are in the human body?

The human body contains roughly 20,000 genes that are capable of producing proteins. The sequence of amino acids determines each protein’s unique 3-dimensional structure. It is also estimated that human body has the ability to generate many different types of proteins coded by the 20,000 genes.