What holds the moon up?

The moon doesn't fall to the earth for the same reason a tether ball doesn't crash into the pole it flies around. Gravity is kind of like the rope between the ball and the pole (but doesn't wrap around). If the rope broke, the ball would fly away. So would the moon if gravity suddenly disappeared.