Who is william the conqueror?

William I, or William the Conqueror, was the 1st Norman King of England from 1066 to 1087. William was an heir to the throne but there were other heirs, one was Earl Harold Godwinson. William invaded England in September 1066. He beat and killed Harold at the Battle of Hastings on 14 October 1066.