What kind of lighting do orchids need?

Species specific -- the question needs to be more specific. In general, however, bright, indirect light from an eastern or southern window is ideal. Leaf color is a good indicator of the amount of light an orchid is getting: Bright green leaves indicate a happy, healthy plant.