Why are babies tongues white?

It is not uncommon for a newborn to have a white tongue. Their primary source of nourishment is breast milk or formula, so milk residue from a recent feed is the most likely cause of this discoloration. Sometimes, a newborn may have oral thrush, which is a type of yeast infection.