Why was the show anne with an e. canceled?

The series was unexpectedly cancelled in 2019, after negotiations between Canadian broadcaster CBC and the streamer Netflix fell through. Netflix, which had a later release date for season three on 3rd January 2020, began marketing the latest season as the "final" instalment.