How do you tame dinosaurs in ark survival evolved?

The taming method depends on the creature. Some require violent means of rendering the creature unconscious and then placing the appropriate taming food in it's inventory. Others are done passively by petting or placing food in the tenth slot on your hotbar. Other methods are unique per animal.