What is angel cream?

Angel Cream is a mixture designated especially for use in Angel Food and other foam cake production where it replaces Cream of Tartar. Angel Cream controls the pH of egg whites more effectively than Cream of Tartar which results in increased volume and more uniform texture of the finished cakes.