What is sand made out of?

Sand is typically made mostly of varying amounts of material weathered from inland rocks (or seacliff material) and transported to the beach on the wind or in rivers, and or shells and other hard parts precipitated out of the ocean water by marine organisms.

---

The most common component of sand is silicon dioxide in the form of quartz. The Earth's landmasses are made up of rocks and minerals, including quartz, feldspar and mica. Weathering processes — such as wind, rain and freezing,thawing cycles — break down these rocks and minerals into smaller grains.