How do i substitute shortening for butter?

In general, you can sub shortening for butter in equal amounts in baking recipes (not the frosting or icing, though). Shortening yields higher, lighter-textured baked goods, sometimes preferable to butter (depending on what you're making). Butter naturally has some water in it; shortening doesn't.