What does skunked beer mean?

Beer that has gone bad is called "skunked," since it often smells bad.

---

Sunlight and fluorescent light can convert bitter hop compounds in beer into a pungent odor compound similar to that of a skunk. Kegs, cans and brown bottles prevent this reaction, but beer in other bottles and bar glassware can develop a skunky aroma in a matter of seconds if exposed to such light.