How is cream cheese made?

The recipe is fairly simple—lactic acid bacteria are added to cream (or sometimes a combination of milk and cream), and this causes the pH of the cream to decrease, which in turn makes it coagulate. To put it simply, it becomes separated into curds and whey.

---

To make cream cheese, producers start with fresh pasteurized cream or a combination of milk and cream, then add lactic acid bacteria to lower the pH, which causes curds to form. The whey gets drained, the curds get heated, and added stabilizers provide structure.

---

Simple lactic acid bacteria are added to cream, and this causes the pH of the cream to decrease, which in turn makes it coagulate. (it becomes separated into curds and whey). Then the whey is drained off, the curds heated, stabilizers added, and cream cheese is made.

---

You can make your own cream cheese by hanging sour cream with a pinch of salt in a cheese cloth and allowing it to drain for about 12-24 hours. You can also use plain yogurt for a healthier version.

---

The recipe is fairly simple—lactic acid bacteria are added to cream (or sometimes a combination of milk and cream), and this causes the pH of the cream to decrease, which in turn makes it coagulate. To put it simply, it becomes separated into curds and whey.

---

lactic acid bacteria are added to cream (or sometimes a combination of milk and cream), and this causes the pH of the cream to decrease, which in turn makes it coagulate.