Who is the first african american nba player?

Earl Lloyd was the first African-American to play in an NBA game on October 31, 1950, when he took the court as a forward for the Washington Capitols. Two other black players were also drafted to the NBA in 1950: Chuck Cooper for the Celtics and Nat “Sweetwater” Clifton for the Knicks.