What's the definition of retention?

'To keep': As in not getting promoted from the 3rd to the 4th grade: 'kept back'. Or not being able to keep employees, as in bad retention statistics. Or h2o retention in your ankles from poorly functioning kidneys or heart. It is neither a positive nor negative connotation, depends on context.