Why is pizza called pizza?

The word pizza is the Italian word for the meat and tomato sauce and cheese pie. Americans borrowed the word when the dish became popular in the US after World War II. The word itself may come from the Greek "pita," which means "bran bread" or the Old Germanic "bizzo," which means "bite."