What happens when we get old?

Humans undergo a number of physiological changes as they enter advanced age. The skin wrinkles, hair turns gray and thins, knees and other joints become weaker, vision and hearing may get worse, and the metabolism slows. A branch of medicine called geriatrics deals with diseases related to aging.