What are some high heat oils?

Refined oils such as vegetable, canola, corn, grapeseed, safflower and sunflower are all designated as high heat oils, meaning they can withstand approximately 450F. Peanut oil is being used more and more as it has a slightly earthy and more interesting flavour than plain vegetable oil.