Where is hoisin sauce from?

There is limited documentation regarding hoisin sauce, it looks to be a Cantonese creation and was traditionally used in southern Chinese cooking, specifically for seafood. The word hoisin is from the Chinese word for seafood, or a generic term for seafood sauces.