How do you raise the roof?

A common solution is adding “collar ties”, which are similar to ceiling joists but higher up. A vaulted ceiling with collar ties usually has a large flat area above the sloped sides. If you want the ceiling vaulted all the way to the top it gets more complex, and you'll need a structural ridge beam.