What's the difference between a raisin and a sultana?

Raisins are dark in color, have a soft texture, a sweet flavor and are typically larger than sultanas. Sultanas are made from green seedless grapes. Unlike raisins, sultanas are typically coated in an oil-based solution prior to drying and are often lighter in color than raisins.