How many people excape alcatraz?

36 men made a total of 14 escape attempts during Alcatraz's history. Of these, 23 were caught, six were shot and killed during their escape and two drowned. The remaining five went missing and were presumed drowned.

---

According to History.com, 36 prisoners attempted to escape from Alcatraz. 23 were caught. Six were shot and killed. Two drowned. Five were never found and presumed to have drowned.