Why is the resident evil?

When it came time to localize the game for the US, Capcom ran into some trouble trying to trademark the word 'Biohazard. Eventually, Capcom chose the name Resident Evil, a pun on the fact that the first game took place inside a mansion, and the series has gone by two different names ever since