How do people sleepwalk?

The exact cause of sleepwalking is unknown, but it seems to run in families. You're more likely to sleepwalk if other members of your close family have or had sleepwalking behaviors or night terrors. The following things can trigger sleepwalking or make it worse: not getting enough sleep.