Why are stormtroopers called stormtroopers?

The name stormtrooper comes from the real-life storm troopers of the German military in the 20th century. A storm trooper is a member of storm troops, also called shock troops, which are trained for sudden assaults. The German word for that "Lightning Assault" was "Blitzkrieg."