Can you repel mosquitoes?

There are many ways to repel mosquitoes, such as, using crushed lavender flowers which produce a fragrance and oil that can repel mosquitoes, using citronella plant oil in candles, using crushed or minced garlic, and planting catnip in your yard is a non-toxic alternative that repels mosquitoes.