How is cinnamon produced?

Cinnamon comes from the inner layer of bark derived from dozens of varieties of evergreen trees that belong to the genus Cinnamomum. This inner layer is dried and used whole as cinnamon sticks, or ground to a fine powder and used as ground cinnamon.